“The Cure Is” movie trailer review

QuackMy mate Will just posted this on facebook and I took it upon myself (as you know I can do sometimes) to share with the rest of the world.

Fitness Professionals tend to be some of the main culprits when it comes to getting caught up in quackery, my younger self absolutely not exempt.

Independent documentaries on various aspects of health are a dime a dozen, and while there have been a few interesting ones (Food Inc. did at least bring an awareness of the U.S. food system to the viewer, albeit an extreme slant; Morgan Spurlock demonstrated what happens when you go out of your way to eat like shit) they almost always amount to little more than propaganda pieces (“Forks over knives”, anyone?).

Somehow, a link to the trailer of this latest doco just ended up in my inbox.
5 years ago I’d probably have eaten this shit up.

Today, I could smell bullshit as soon as I opened the email.

Clues:

  • Title is “The cure is” – Reels in the reader with an incomplete answer; offers a cure – simple solution to complex problem. Big red flag.
  • Through the trailer, it keeps talking about “The truth now revealed” – appeal to conspiracy theories that the truth has been kept from us. Big red flag.
  • Attempts to bring science on its side to gain a sense of legitimacy, but lacks explanation of that science. Talks about science now confirming what ancients have known/medical fraternity have not known. Double red flag.
  • Producer is a chiropractor whom, after a quick search, comes up on the quack radar. Big red flag.
  • The only contributor on there who I’ve heard of is Paul Chek. Massive red flag.

So please, fellow fitpros, squash this one. I don’t want to see links to this doing the rounds on my FB feed in the coming weeks.

 

Author: davehpt

I'm DaveHPT, Maybe you've heard of me? Musician, rock star and recording artist. Published author. Former security industry professional. Personal Trainer and Weight Management Architect Of Awesomeness. Problem Solver.

Leave a Reply

