I feel quite relieved and somewhat vindicated

because I’m noticing so much more RESPONSIBLE type of articles on the net in regards to dieting, promoting flexibility, moderation and dispelling a lot of the absolute nonsense that was getting bandied around until recently.

Maybe it is just because I’m looking in the right places now, and networking with a better class of professionals who share this type of quality information. Even the more intelligent, ethical and eloquent proponents of some of the fashionable diets I’ve spoken against in the past are coming out with some very sensible articles and interviews to the tune of “we eat these foods and not those foods because we feel they are a better choice to suit our needs, but all this talk about those being “bad” foods that no one ELSE should eat ever is absurd”.

I’ve said this a few times and it always seems to be ignored by my critics but I’ll say it again anyway. There’s no reason people HAVE TO eat bread, grains, cereals, potatoes or whatever else if they don’t want to, have an intolerance, or feel there is a more nutritious choice that is more beneficial in meeting their needs. There’s no reason you can’t do paleo, or clean eating, or whatever else… as strict as you like. The issue is though, you should be doing it because it actually suits your needs, you find it relatively easy and it makes you happier in general. When people are making themselves miserable trying to force themselves to stick to a restrictive plan with a whole bunch of rules that don’t suit them, that’s when there’s an issue and my mission all along from day one is to spread the message that you DO have A CHOICE and you can still get tremendous results with a more flexible approach that suits you and includes some indulgence. My fight has been against the people trying to take that choice away from people and making them feel guilty and/or ashamed of not being able to live up to some impossible standard that isn’t even remotely necessary.

SO I’ve been saying this for a few years now and I’m not the only one but I’ve definitely been in the minority and it has cost me few friends and made me (by my own choice of course) something of an outsider or outcast in the industry. Until now. Maybe. There are still plenty that are slow to catch on and still running with whatever ideas they read about 6 months ago and blindly accepted without applying any level of critical thinking. Of course there are still the notorious (but for some reason highly successful) scam artists pushing their “top secret food combinations” and whatever other snake oil type nonsense, and there are unfortunately some who have their own issues with disordered ideas about eating who are unable to accept that a flexible approach can work or is preferable.

Anyway I digress. The point is, the swing towards common sense, flexibility, moderation and actually applying some critical thinking and logic to information rather than blindly accepting, sharing and defending to the belligerent disregard of overwhelming real world evidence is growing, and that is a wonderful thing.

But I was saying it first.

Well… not FIRST, but I was definitely saying it when it was very unpopular to do so.

Author: davehpt

I'm DaveHPT, Maybe you've heard of me? Musician, rock star and recording artist. Published author. Former security industry professional. Personal Trainer and Weight Management Architect Of Awesomeness. Problem Solver.

Leave a Reply

