SHOCK your body into burning fat and losing weight?

Cat Smiley is a leading body transformation expert and has been named Canada’s top trainer three times by the International Sports Science Association. She is the author of The Planet Friendly Diet, and owner of Canada’s première weight loss retreat for women, located in Whistler, Canada.
Cat Smiley is a leading body transformation expert and has been named Canada’s top trainer three times by the International Sports Science Association. She is the author of The Planet Friendly Diet, and owner of Canada’s première weight loss retreat for women, located in Whistler, Canada.

So, my friend Cat Smiley asked me the other day if I’d be interested in writing a little guest post for her blog, explaining a little of my thoughts and my approach on using strength training and flexible dieting towards great results in weight loss, body sculpting and really just feeling pretty damn great and enjoying life.

It is nice to be able to collaborate with someone like Cat who not only has been so successful in helping so many people, but even more importantly (to me) has done so through ethical methods and an empowering message. What I mean by this is… well… consider most of what we’re often told in regard to combating the world’s obesity problem; there’s a lot of talk about people working on some sort of medical or pharmaceutical breakthrough, there’s a whole bunch of programs and products supposed to “shock” or “trick” your body into burning fat and going back to a normal, healthy weight.

Like I said  in a post last week, virtually everything I do as a coach is based on the total rejection of any of this. What you body needs is a chance to get healthy and to function normally, the way nature intended.

Here’s how I like to do it, as if you didn’t know already.

Let’s start with the training side of things and we’ll get to the eating part a little later. My training strategy is based mostly on resistance training, or strength or weight training if you prefer. Some form of cardiovascular, interval or other conditioning training is important as well, but the emphasis and the bulk of the training routines are resistance based.

In keeping with our theme of empowerment, we are training productively to build and maintain our goal body, not merely “to burn calories” as if the point of exercising was make up for not starving ourselves that day or something. This is an important point that I haven’t really heard anyone else bring up before; we don’t just exercise for the sake of expending energy, we train strategically in a manner that ensures that our body will take all of the fuel give it, and put it to good use in becoming healthier and stronger. This also tends to mean more lean, more firm, more symmetrically proportioned and all of the other changes that we’d like to see.

Now to do all of this, we need a balanced program. We need a balance between upper and lower body exercises, and pushing and pulling movements. Further to this, I like a balance between horizontal and vertical movements on those upper body exercises, and since I train at such a great gym I’m even able to hit the angles in between as well. Exercise selection can vary between clients or even just between sessions, but if we have covered all of these movements we know that we have successfully targeted all of the major muscle groups. In this manner, we’re focussing on the stuff that will make the biggest difference by exhausting those enormous muscle groups which require the most refuelling in order to adapt and recover. With all that said and done, in the further interests of balance I also throw in some of what I would call “precision” type exercises to target specific, smaller muscles.

I’ve probably just made all of that sound a lot more complicated than it really is. I explain it a lot better on this guest post I mentioned earlier, filed under Lift Weights To Lose Weight. Go read that one!

Once you’re done there, here’s a great post from Cat on my blog, with her thoughts on the paleo diet. Not too far removed from my own, I might add.

Author: davehpt

I'm DaveHPT, Maybe you've heard of me? Musician, rock star and recording artist. Published author. Former security industry professional. Personal Trainer and Weight Management Architect Of Awesomeness. Problem Solver.

Leave a Reply

