Latest Trends In Nutrition Within The Fitness Industry

Hasn’t it been rather a long time between updates?

Sorry about that! Actually I have a couple of half finished drafts that I’m kinda stuck on for the time being. I have lost my edge a little bit and not had so many angry, profanity laden rants I needed to get off my chest. Which is probably a good thing, isn’t it?

I will tell you something though. I am definitely noticing a trend towards more flexible approaches and a growing rejection of the restrictive, orthorexic methods which inspired me to build this site in the first place about 10 or 11 months ago. It is very interesting indeed to see this shift starting to occur, partially in response to a more educated public who have rejected such illogical nonsense. I am going to go ahead and give myself credit for spearheading (or at least being a part of) this movement.

Let’s review (close enough to) one year ago when I basically got pissed off and decided I didn’t want to be a part of the direction the industry was heading and set myself apart from the mainstream. I was involved in a few networking groups for industry people, and I kept getting pissed off with the stuff that was getting pushed back and forth between these people, and I’d be criticised for “not keeping up with the latest trends in the industry” for not getting on the paleo bandwagon, or the clean eating bandwagon, or the He Who Should Not Be Named (Gary Taubes, ugh) bandwagon.

Now if you think about it… why would there even BE a latest trend as far as dieting advice goes, that we all need to keep up with? Well, it’d be because we finally realised the previous “latest trend” didn’t bloody work – right? Now you can go back the past few decades and a lot of the latest trends have just been a slight variation on what went before them, but off the top of my head let’s see… you’ve got clean eating, paleo, low GI, low carb, no carb, atkins, the list goes on and on. Oh there was that smoothie craze earlier this year too that all the trainers jumped into.

And what’s happened in the mean time, while all these fads have come and gone? Answer: people have gotten fatter, and fatter, and fatter.

Not just “despite there being all of these diets available”, either. I put it to you that people have gotten fatter and fatter DUE TO all of these fad diets. We all know that when you yo-yo between over eating and crash dieting, it is a recipe for disaster and results in weight gain. Well, it doesn’t have to be a crash, starvation diet to have the same effect. Going on and off atkins, on and off paleo or whatever other approach is STILL yo yo dieting, as far as I am concerned.

Most of these have been some variation on the “carbs are bad” theme, and work based on forcing the body to adapt to be being deprived of it’s primary source of fuel. Of course, once it does adapt, you stop losing weight. When you stop losing weight you ditch the diet and we all know what happens when you reintroduce normal foods with carbohydrates in them. Without getting too scientific (as if I ever do!) here let’s just say yo yoing on and off low / no calories diets is going to screw up your metabolism in terms how your body manages it’s energy balance. Aka it messes up your hormones.

Ironically 10 months ago I’d be dragged into arguments with people pushing these “calories are irrelevant, the issue is hormonal” ideas and in some ways they were correct, but really it’s like arguing if the chicken came before the egg. The hormonal issue (in most cases) has been caused by yo yoing on and off restrictive low carb diets… therefore, we can’t treat the problem with yet another restrictive low carb diet. The idea is analogous to cleaning up a spill by pouring more water on it. Am I right?

So that was 10 months ago and I maintain that these sort of ideas are pushed by people trying to make diet and exercise programming for weight management seem more complicated and difficult than it really is, to make money. Either by selling diet books and programs direct to the consumer, or (worse) to establish themselves as a “leading fit pro” and sell courses to aspiring trainers.

Anyway. For reasons already explained I refused to be a part of any of that, and set myself apart from the industry shouting the truth from here to anyone who’d listen. And I’d say I’ve had tremendous success as have my clients who’ve signed up for my Online Coaching Program via this site… and that success is directly due to the complete, utter and absolute rejection of everything these self appointed “industry leaders” were promoting.

NOW though? I went back for a look at some of the groups I used to network with, and (with a few notable exceptions) it seems like everyone is talking a lot of sense. Flexible dieting, appropriate calorie levels, and “carbs are your friend”. It seems like there is a real shift towards sensible, flexible and moderate approaches for long term success, driven in part by a more educated consumer public (I’ll take credit for that, thanks very much) as well as the realisation that these unrealistic “clean eating” ideals were having a frighteningly detrimental effect on the mental health of those subjected to them, resulting eating disorder behaviour… exactly as I warned it would 10 months or so ago.

So… they say it takes a big man to admit when he’s wrong, and it takes an even bigger man to not gloat when it turns out he was right all along. I however, am not a big man.

All that being said, it’s nice when people finally agree with you and I feel like a big chip has been knocked off my shoulders. Hopefully I can still think of some stuff to write about now that I’m not so pissed off all of the time though.

Author: davehpt

I'm DaveHPT, Maybe you've heard of me? Musician, rock star and recording artist. Published author. Former security industry professional. Personal Trainer and Weight Management Architect Of Awesomeness. Problem Solver.

Leave a Reply

