Checking up on the self proclaimed “fitness industry leaders”

I’m a little overdue for a blog post on this site, so this will be one.

I’ve been keeping myself amused tonight by doing a little twitter and facebook stalking. There was some drama between an industry type person I network with and a competitor… so I check out the competitors site to see what all the fuss is about… and that lead me to a few other industry type sites.

It’s funny because I’m actually a lot more humble than you might think. I mean, I have a great system here and I know it works, but it’s just based on traditional exercises and common sense. I’m not claiming to have reinvented fitness and nutrition like some of these jokers. So I was checking out these self professed elite industry types… and I’m not even just talking about PTs, I’m talking about the educators who are selling exercise instruction courses to PTs and aspiring PTs. And it’s like… wow. All these posts about “lol, are you still teaching lunges and squats like it’s the 80s? Look at this 12 simultaneous movement clusterfuck of confusion and almost certain injury that we use instead because we’re so advanced”.

And you look at it and just go “… what”. I checked out some videos too and shared them with a couple of my respected PT friends and none of us could make head or tail of what these “exercises” were supposed to accomplish. Just the most ridiculous nonsense.

Another thing I noticed is that they all share a lot of these “amazing transformation” type posts from fitness motivation sites, I would assume because none of their own clients are seeing good enough results to brag about. One of them posted a link to fat loss factor as well which pretty much removes any credibility they might have had, as far as I’m concerned.

What I also noticed on the sites was the usual text posts with the usual drivel about “foods you think are healthy which are actually making you fat” and of course it’s fruit and things like that. And of course, they drop the names of their “fitness industry leader” type guru who is passing all of their advanced, elite level knowledge on exercise and nutrition… but there’s no photos of them. So with a few clicks I manage to find them on facebook, in photos at their seminars or just normal facebook style photos… and you guessed it, they’re all fat.

Now that’s not to say I’m fat shaming but if you claim to be some sort of exercise and weight loss guru, and have the audacity to make ridiculous comments implying that squats and lunges aren’t two of the most beneficial exercises that all humans should be practising, and not to mention the stuff about fruit making people fat… really, you should probably look at least somewhat athletic and not have a double chin. Which is not to say you can always judge a book by it’s cover… but you can tell the ones who’ve been there and done that from the ones who haven’t.

My main issue with this is that these videos and posts were coming from training organisations… as in, the organisations that teach people to be trainers. And this is the crap they are teaching? This is how they want us to train people? They actually think this stuff is going to be effective?  Good god.

TRAINERS READING THIS… I actually agree with a comment one of these people made to sell their next seminar or whatever it is, which was “If you don’t want more knowledge then you shouldn’t be a trainer because you don’t know everything!“. That’s entirely true, but be very selective about WHOM you learn from.

I’ll learn technique and instruction tips from power lifters, nutrition stuff from nutritionists or bodybuilders who’ve had success building a great lean physique with a moderate approach, I’ll pick various things up from various sources. But just because someone is a great self promoter, doesn’t necessarily mean they’re actually talking sense.

Author: davehpt

I'm DaveHPT, Maybe you've heard of me? Musician, rock star and recording artist. Published author. Former security industry professional. Personal Trainer and Weight Management Architect Of Awesomeness. Problem Solver.

Leave a Reply

