I happen to know a lot of qualified pts are studying up on this site

and that’s cool. 

I’ve been looking into adding an actual nutrition certification to my list of credentials but it’s not so easy man. The ones I’ve looked into or heard people talking about from within the fitness industry all seem to be pushing fad diets of some sort or other. The usual, post-atkins, low carb bullshit, or borderline orthorexia under the so called “paelo” banner. 

The sensible alternative would be to do an actual nutritionist or dietician type course, but those are… well… they’re not designed to be like a side qualification for people like me doing a related job. They’re for people who actually want to do that job, full time. So the courses are a bit longer than I’d like to commit to at this time and budget would an issue as well.

In any case, I’m committed to the idea that for simply losing weight and getting into great shape… nothing more complicated is required than to eat “about the right amount, on average, more often than not” and to train strategically for about an hour a day.

That’s my message and my core belief, and if more people in the business are moving away from potentially damaging, restrictive fad diets then all the better and I’m more than happy if my website is helping to facilitate that. This is stuff that really should be covered in the course of becoming certified as a trainer, in my opinion.

So while we’re on the subject of providing information that will better equip newly qualified trainers to be successful in helping their clients… I have a new project in the works which will be the “No Bullshit Business Blueprint For Independent Personal Trainers”, based on how I’m running things here in Brunswick.

Some of you might know, I’ve been at this for quite a few years now… originally supplementing my income by doing some crowd control work, then finally getting to full schedule last year in a different location, before having to start over from scratch again here a few months back. This time, I really think I have a near perfect business system that has helped me get back to self sufficiency without compromising my training OR ethical principles. There are about a million people selling business & marketing systems to PTs… some are very good, some are very dodgy. All I’m saying with this project is “here’s what I do, and it works nicely for me”. There are a lot of pitfalls for new (and especially young) people in this business, so if I can help some sincere and enthusiastic people to get established then all the better.

Stay tuned for more on this as it comes together.

Author: davehpt

I'm DaveHPT, Maybe you've heard of me? Musician, rock star and recording artist. Published author. Former security industry professional. Personal Trainer and Weight Management Architect Of Awesomeness. Problem Solver.

Leave a Reply

