Stuff I rate highly that doesn’t cost very much, part 1

Why not do another “recommendations” type post to prove that I don’t actually think everything is crap?

I made a post the other day about how to set up your home gym and I mentioned that you can add a heap of extra options  for not a lot of money by investing in a set of resistance tubes. You can simulate a lot of “cable” type exercises with these. I keep a set in my car and if I’m ever on holidays or away for the weekend and there’s no gym available I can improvise a pretty damn good session with these.

Some people are all about buying the most expensive gear to showcase how serious they think they are… I’m about the stuff that’s actually quite good, doesn’t cost very much… and is probably overlooked by most people. Let’s start.

Dunlop Volleys

This is what you want in a lifting shoe. Simple, flat soles, excellent grip… nothing fancy or technological. They come in some wonderfully flamboyant colours too. And they’re so cheap, I bought three pairs because I couldn’t decide what colour I like.

Slazenger Bioslyx Compression Garments

Man… compression gear is SO fucking expensive am I right? I bought some cheap stuff on ebay years back.. but it was kind of terrible. It all lost its “compressionness” after a few washes and went kinda stretched out and shapeless. So, it made me think maybe you do have to spend big bucks on fancy name brand from a fancy name brand sporting store.

But then, I spotted the Slazenger gear and it was like… I don’t know, a quarter… maybe a third of the cost of the expensive brands. I got a couple of the compression tees and I think they are awesome. I’ve had one for a couple of years now, and the other for about a year and they still do the job. They kinda hold everything in the right place so I look like I’m in better shape than I actually am, too. Slazenger is a good brand.

That’s enough for now but I’ll add more when I think of things.

Author: davehpt

I'm DaveHPT, Maybe you've heard of me? Musician, rock star and recording artist. Published author. Former security industry professional. Personal Trainer and Weight Management Architect Of Awesomeness. Problem Solver.

Leave a Reply

