More utterly fkn dumb shit

Seriously though?

I worked at this gym last year and I had a good success rate with getting… god I think half the town was doing my introductory program at one stage. Of the ones NOT doing my programs though… I used to see a LOT of overweight or obese women doing dumbbell curls and stuff like that. One assumes it was to “tone up the arms”, right?

I posted about this before in a post with some suggestions for toning up the arms without weights and I think I explained it pretty damn well there already. To recap or possibly elaborate a little though… it’s like you know already if you’ve been following my free program. To get a great body, first we have to consume an amount of calories to maintain good health at an appropriate weight, and THEN we have to train in a manner that ensures that when we reach that weight we’re made up of more lean mass and less body fat.

Now… in the DUMB AS FUCK screenshot up above, the suggestion is that if you have nice arms, that’s all people are going to notice even if you’re still out of shape around the midsection or where ever else. Did I point out how dumb as fuck that is? But even if that was true, how are you going to get nice arms without training for full body fat loss? YOU CANNOT SPOT REDUCE FAT from specific areas by performing isolation exercises. To maximise fat loss you need to be smashing the major muscle groups (back, butt, quads, and chest) and forcing the body to utilise the resources that you give it (that means energy and nutrients) to build more lean mass (aka increased muscle and bone density). More lean mass at the same or reduced weight = less body fat.

You can NOT do this by focussing on relatively small, minor muscles such as the biceps and triceps with isolation exercises for arms. If it came down to it, I’d say forget arms all together and do extra back and chest exercises instead.

It blows my mind the amount of absolute bollocks other trainers put out, and it actually gets them in magazines and pulls in celebrity clients? Ugh!

Author: davehpt

I'm DaveHPT, Maybe you've heard of me? Musician, rock star and recording artist. Published author. Former security industry professional. Personal Trainer and Weight Management Architect Of Awesomeness. Problem Solver.

Leave a Reply

