It’s my anniversary of becoming a PT

Online Weight Loss CoachOr at least, it’s my anniversary of moving the world’s famous and totally awesome Doherty’s Gym in Brunswick. Also my birthday is coming up so it’s that time of year where I start feeling a bit introspective and reflecting on life and stuff. This is probably the sort of thing I’d usually post on my blogspot, but I’m doing supplement reviews there this week and I don’t want to break the flow. So it’s going here instead… deal with it!

SO, I have been in the biz for… I don’t know, 6 or 7 years now I guess. Wait let’s do the timeline in point form it’ll look cooler.

  • Realised how much I hated my I.T job, and how many people had been telling me “you should become a personal trainer”.
  • Quit I.T and started studying to become qualified as a trainer while working Corporate Security & Property Services job.
  • Quit that and started my PT business while also running a nightclub (head of security and self appointed promotions guy).
  • Then went full time in the Fitness Industry, relocated to the countryside doing PT and supplement sales, marketing and whatever else for a small gym.
  • Fast forward to now, moved back to Brunswick again, launched Lose Weight No Bullshit and DHPT via Email…
  • aaaand you know the rest!

What Has Changed, And What Is The Same?

The older I get, the more uncompromising I become and the more I “only want to do what I want to do”. Does that sound like a bad thing? It isn’t. As a new trainer, we’re often taught that we need to be on top of the latest trends in fitness, offer a wide variety of training styles that different clients might be interested in, be prepared to travel to different locations for example to the park for one client, to another client’s home or where ever it is that they’d like to train, and be able to come up with “a workout” on the fly with whatever space or equipment is available. Of course your intentions are honourable but basically you are just saying “sure, we can do that” to whatever they ask for, taking their 50 bucks and pulling something out of your arse thin air to keep them entertained once a week.

So, what I mean by uncompromising is that the only thing I am interested in doing as a trainer is building programs that will actually take a client from where they are now to where they’d like to be, and quite possibly even further. And within this I’m also interested in producing the best possible results with the most reasonable, moderate approach. I have other missions that you already know I’m passionate about such as leading the fight against orthorexia and other eating disorders, and the scumbags who profit from them by exploiting vulnerable people. That’s something I am beginning to be known for, and something that has earned me a loyal following of supporters. But as far as being a Personal Trainer with an individual client, it is always going to be able delivering results, and doing what I believe in…. rather than whatever the marketing gurus tell me will appeal to the most potential clients.

So having said all that, my Brunswick Personal Training business is now quite exclusive and only for people who are serious about training for results following my program. And the Coaching Via Email program is for the same sorts of people, who can’t come and train with me in person for geographical reasons. To be completely honestly with you, the free program here is something of a screening process because it tells people everything (and then some) that they need to know to get the result they are looking for. Anyone who follows the free program is going to get results, as sure as Kilimanjaro rises like Olympus above the Serengeti. So when people email me saying “I really love the free program and I’ve gotten results already. Now I want to sign up for Coaching Via Email” I already know they are serious and ready to do what it takes. And those are the people I want to work with. Those are the people I want to be a part of what I do and a part of my life.

Like I keep saying, DHPT is for people who want results!

That’s all for now.

Oh I almost forgot! If you’re a suitable candidate for Personal Training In Brunswick, I’m offering 10% off until the end of April. Exclusively for people who are serious about results!

Author: davehpt

I'm DaveHPT, Maybe you've heard of me? Musician, rock star and recording artist. Published author. Former security industry professional. Personal Trainer and Weight Management Architect Of Awesomeness. Problem Solver.

Leave a Reply

