IIFYM vs Clean Eating

I just had to share this great video from Layne Norton, one of the most respected names in  nutrition (as far as I am concerned anyway) just talking a whole heap of common sense regarding the “clean eating” vs IIFYM argument.

As a side note I actually had to quit a networking group I was a part of earlier this week, due to the amount of what I would call orthorexic trainers on there pushing excessively restrictive diets on to their clients, and trying to tell me that there’s no way for a human being to control their weight if they eat anything that’s not on their magical list of “clean foods”. And of course, the stuff not on the list is normal every day stuff that my own plan is built on… and I can control my weight down to the last kilogram (and look reasonably good for an old man) with no trouble at all due to hitting my macros more often than not.

I wish I hadn’t left the group now, so I could share this video and see if it enlightens anyone. Trainers pushing the idea that certain foods are “bad” as if a single bite will bring all of your hard work undone in an instant is every bit as bad as recommending starvation level intake, in my opinion. As it says in the video, this fosters an unhealthy relationship with food and leads to binge eating disorders.

Anyway just watch the video. He says it all much better than I could.

For more about IIFYM, there’s a great article (if I do say so myself) over on my blogspot, all about IIFYM and why it is the common sense approach to weight loss. More people need to know about my blogspot, there is some great stuff there.

Author: davehpt

I'm DaveHPT, Maybe you've heard of me? Musician, rock star and recording artist. Published author. Former security industry professional. Personal Trainer and Weight Management Architect Of Awesomeness. Problem Solver.

Leave a Reply

