Pre and Post Workout Nutrition

Before and after training is really the only time that I think meal timing is important. You know, some people are like “don’t eat anything in the evening” or “no carbs after 6pm” or whatever. It’s all nonsense as I have explained in the free program. If you’re getting the right amount, your body is going to utilise it all regardless of the time of day you consume it.

Before and after training though…well let’s start with before training. You gotta have some fuel in the tank, but you don’t want a full stomach sloshing around while you’re working out. After training you need to replenish your glycogen stores which have been exhausted due to smashing big ass weights against each other for the past hour, I personally find I need to get my blood sugar back up because I usually stagger out of the gym pretty much destroyed. Especially on legs day… which is every day!

So after training you want carbs for recovery, and you want protein as well. Your muscles are screaming out for nutrients at this point so you might as well give it to them when they want it. Personally I go for my carbs the second I get home (after washing my hands because they’re sweaty and gross from the gym), and protein maybe 20 minutes after that.

Now also this is important for the people who find it hard to consume enough calories in a day in accordance with the guidelines I have given them. You can consume a LOT of calories before and after training, which you KNOW you’re going to utilise right away (fuel and recovery), and it won’t impact your appetite for your next meal very much.

So what I have is as follows:

Pre Training: 1 x small – medium banana (frozen) blended into a milk + Whey Protein Concentrate Shake.
Post Training: 2 x thick white rice cakes with raspberry jam, and 1 x milk + Whey Protein Concentrate Shake.

pre and post workout nutrition

By my maths (and clearly I mean “according to MyFitnessPal”, because maths is hard) I’m getting 900 calories here alone, with a ratio of 50% Protein, 40% Carbohydrates and 10% Fats

That’s PERFECT for me. Maybe it’s too much for you… you can easily work out what best fits your own requirements though.

Author: davehpt

I'm DaveHPT, Maybe you've heard of me? Musician, rock star and recording artist. Published author. Former security industry professional. Personal Trainer and Weight Management Architect Of Awesomeness. Problem Solver.

Leave a Reply

