What is actually required to lose weight?

Just a quick first post to start things off and to give you an idea of what is to come.

If you actually want to lose weight, here’s what’s required. In point form!

  • A healthy and positive attitude to training and nutrition.
    Amongst other things this means no starvation diets!
  • Appropriate nutrition.
    Again, this means “not too much, not too little”. Under eating is perhaps just as bad as over eating, and I’ll go into great detail on this in entries to come.
  • Appropriate exercise program.
    This is an important point because a lot of people are scared off by the thought of unpleasant, excessive training programs. Or, they’ll choose a form of exercise that is not suitable to the physique they are trying to achieve.
  • Patience and consistency, matched with realism.
    If you’re significantly overweight, chances are that this was a gradual process that snuck up on you over an extended period of time. While we’d hope to make steady progress and lose weight faster than we gained it, it’s about keeping it off long term as well. So crash diets are not the answer!
    You have to be realistic as well, and accept that “you gotta live” and you’re not going to be able stick to your plan with 100% accuracy 100% of the time.
  • You gotta believe, if you want to achieve.
    Belief systems are a big part of this and I’ll post more on this subject very soon.

That’s the quick n dirty explanation but the difference between success and failure will always be in doing “what is actually required” rather than an inappropriate approach that is either more extreme than is necessary, or completely inadequate.

I will try to set this blog up so that if you read one article a day, you’ll end up with all the information you need to make things happen. Stay tuned!

Author: davehpt

I'm DaveHPT, Maybe you've heard of me? Musician, rock star and recording artist. Published author. Former security industry professional. Personal Trainer and Weight Management Architect Of Awesomeness. Problem Solver.

2 thoughts on “What is actually required to lose weight?”

  1. You are a very intelligent man based on what I’ve read here. You also seem to have a lot of energy because you can’t fight the urge to stay still in your videos, which – to me – indicates that you’re doing something right. Everyone should want to feel full of energy. Anyway, I found your blog because I am overweight and have always been but have always denied it to myself. I was always told that I had a “body,” etc. As much as I denied that I had a weight problem, I have always been trying to lose weight. I’m 5’0″ weighing about 140 lbs. I like my actual shape, it’s feminine. I lift weights so at least I don’t look sloppy. I do need to drop some body fat percentage. This is for sure (currently at about 29%). I recently started iifym and haven’t had so much success mostly because I’m not consistent with tracking my foods in myfitnesspal app and because I’m not working out enough. Sometimes I feel like it’s just not going to happen and that it isn’t going to work for me. But reading your post about us being genetically hard-wired to succeed made me feel better. You’re right. I have been making excuses for myself when people have told me I need to lose weight. And I’ve relished in the company of those who have told me that I’m fine the way I am. But I need to cut the bull shit. You’re right. We are not meant to be fat, and although I’ve always known that I’ve continued to manage to make excuses. I’ve gone from clean eating to over eating and binging and back and forth. The cycle is so vicious and I think it’s sad that we live in a world that has created and endorsed this type of dieting industry. The entire purpose of my lengthy post was to sincerely thank you for making this information accessible to everyone. Thank you for your time and your efforts. I wish you much success in your endeavors. I cannot thank you enough. Thanks again (haha)

Leave a Reply

